Roles are set as public by default. This indicates that the event staff can sign themselves up for the roles they are interested in. Alternatively, if a role is private staff must be assigned by an event manager. In the pick and request feature, private roles will not appear as an option for staff to select.
You can change your roles to private by clicking the Private button when you create or edit a role.